Anytime Now.

image

37.5 weeks. Anytime now. 

Truth be told, I’m really scared of what’s to come in the delivery suite. All I can hope for is a smooth and fast delivery. I’ve had tonnes of pple ask if I’m excited. Yes, I’m a little excited but perhaps the full adrenalin will kick in only later after I’m done with the pushing. 

I thought I’d write down what I’ve been through this past 9 months for posterity. 

– Lost 2 kg during the first trimester ‘coz of morning sickness. I hardly ate! Being the glutton that I am, I never in my life imagined I would be disgusted by food. I didn’t want to eat out. I didn’t want to eat much. I didn’t want to eat. I felt like my world came crumbling down. Would I hate food my whole life from now on? What if I never recover my love for food? Questions I plagued the Hubbs with. Thankfully, my morning sickness ended with the first trimester and I regained my gluttony self plus another 10 kg (excluding the 2kg i lost)

– I became pretty damn emotional. I mean, I was already an emo queen to begin with but these pregnancy hormones made me even more emo. I remember watching a youtube video that parodied the common scenario where teens were embarrassed by their mothers. At the end of the video, the teen finally accepted the mother on Facebook leading the latter to announce it excitedly to a neighbour. The end tagline went something along the lines of – this Mother’s day, all your mother wants is to be your friend on Facebook. While the parody was quite funny, I started sobbing really hard in the middle of the video and even harder when the end tagline came out. The Hubbs looked at me in disbelief and amusement. And I wailed to him, “OMG A, what if next time our son does that to us??” Another wailing incident was when we were watching this documentary on Hongkongers who came to Singapore as nannies and worked till they were so old, they had no families left back in their hometowns. There were many more, and you get the point – I was Queen of all Emo Queens.

– My lips and elbows got a little drier than usual.

– Pregnancy gingivitis. I brushed as lightly as I could but usually still ended up with bloody gums.

– The line that runs down the middle of the bottom of my chest to my navel and towards my lady bits became much darker from the second trimester.

– My armpits started getting darker in the second trimester. 

– My belly button started going off centre, towards the right, in the second trimester and finally popped in the third trimester.

– Every night for 1.5-2 weeks in the 2nd trimester, I woke up in the middle of the night screaming ‘coz I had leg cramps. The Hubbs would jump up, grab my sole and push it towards me to make it go away. Now in the last few weeks, I’m starting to get leg cramps again.

– During the 2nd and 3rd trimester, I started waking up at 3am / 4am on random nights and would stay wide awake for 1-2 hours before going back to sleep or like today, I woke up at 5.30am before going back to sleep at 7.30am. There was once I actually got out of bed and turned on the computer to surf the net and eventually decided to study for and pass a test on the SGX!

– In the third trimester, I suddenly developed a crazy backache in the lower right back. It was so bad that every step I took was excruciating. This lasted for three painful weeks. My back did ache occasionally for the rest of the time during the pregnancy but never as bad as those three weeks. 

– Red stretch marks on the left bottom side of my belly button developed in the third trimester. Gradually the right bottom side of my belly button too.

– A week ago, I also realised I had two large dark patches on my under thighs. It’s like when you’ve sat on a hard chair for too long and it leaves a print on your under thigh. Gosh, I hope that goes away!

– I had no cravings whatsoever. ‘Cravings’ came more from the fact that forbidden fruit tastes better. Teh Peng Siu Dai, coffee, sashimi, oysters were what I lusted after. I did notice that I always wanted something sweet to end off a meal. 

– And no, my boobs didn’t grow much. 

Leave a Reply

