Singapore: Lao San Kway Chup

Fourth time lucky.We went to Lao San Kway Chup in Ang Mo Kio unsuccessfully THRICE. They were either sold out and closing, or just closed. ARGHS. It got me really frustrated. By the third time, I was saying to the Hubbs, “I’m giving up!”

But of course, we didn’t. And thank goodness we didn’t.

Lao San Kway Chup is now officially my favourite kway chup place.
 photo 20131006_123815copy_zpse60c5a2d.jpg

When we got there, there was a fairly long queue in sight. Almost always a good sign of things to come. The queue moved fairly quickly and we got our food in about 30-40 minutes.

 photo 20131006_124002copy_zps55d39902.jpg

For the three of us, we ordered innards for four pax and I asked to exclude pig skin (not a fan). Yes, very greedy but we finished it all anyway! They do two sizes of their silky Kways here. Hubbs and I ordered the large which I couldn’t finish but you can always count on the Hubbs to have space for more. The sis ordered a small Kway. We also ordered a small plate of kiam chye (preserved veggie) to go along. 

 photo 20131006_123957copy_zps1ccd7a58.jpg

Braised pork belly, small intestines, large intestines, fishcake, braised hard boiled eggs, pig stomach, and da chang tou (大肠头) came doused generously with the sweet, savoury sauce. It was my first experience eating Da Chang Tou and according to my sis, not many places do it at all. I must say it was very good. All the innards were very well cleaned in fact, and fresh and didn’t smell at all porky.

 photo 20131006_123840copy_zpsd3b4e128.jpg

The kway was smooth and fragrant from some shallot oil. Chilli – superb with just the right tang. We asked for a small saucer for more seeing how some customers also did the same. By the way, service was excellent for a small hawker store. The uncle who served us was so cheery and happy, and as I was taking photos, joked that I should have taken a photo of him serving the food. Total bill came up to only about $25 bucks.
 photo 20131006_122738copy_zps58f4f9f4.jpg

Kway Chup is most definitely a cholesterol laden meal so having the best at Lao San Kway Chup, I assure you, would make it all the more worth it. Don’t bother wasting those precious calories at subpar kway chup stores.

Lao San Kway Chup 

Blk 232, Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 (Melben Seafood’s just a few stores down!)
Opening hours: 8am to 10.30pm Mon-Sat. Closed Thurs.
Half day on Sundays (which essentially means they close once they’re sold out. judging from the past three unsuccessful attempts, they probably sell out by 2pm).

PS: I had so much trouble finding accurate opening hours for Lao San Kway Chup online, so I took it upon myself to ask the store. This is accurate as of October 2013.

Leave a Reply

